URA navigate past Ethiopian Coffee to secure a date with Al Masry 

URA FC will play Egyptian side Al Masry in the next qualification round of the CAF Confederation Cup after edging their Ethiopian opponents over a two-legged tie.

Cromwel Rwothomio, Ashraf Mandela and Shafik Kagimu all scored for URA as the Tax Collectors defeated Ethiopian Coffee 3-1 at the Bahir Dar International Stadium.

The Tax Collectors have progressed 5-2 on aggregate following the four-goal thriller match away from home. Steven Mukwala had scored twice in the earlier fixture where URA won 2-1 at home.

The result sets the Tax Collectors against Egyptian outfit Al-Masry in the next round before the ultimate winner over the two-legged affair will finally make it to the last qualification stage.

Going into the Sunday game, URA notably made only one change from the eleven that started against the same opponents a week ago at the St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende.

Joackiam Ojera started ahead of newcomer Viane Ssekajugo who assisted both Mukwal’s goals. After half an hour played, Ojera rounded off an opponent with superb ball control before crossing to Mukwala whose header went rather wide.

With five minutes to go before the first half, Kagimu set up Rwothomio who slotted home to give URA the lead and a comfortable 3-1 aggregate advantage over their Ethiopian opponents.

Right-back Ashraf Mandela shortly after the restart doubled the lead for URA before Kagimu scored the third in quick succession from the 52nd to the 55th minute.

In the 70th minute, Ethiopian Coffee converted from the spot to pull one back, minutes before Ssekajugo came on to replace Ojera.

The Taxmen were forced to a double change as Benjamin Nyakoojo and Living Kabon respectively replaced the injured Rwothomio and Kagimu who were both stretchered off.

How URA lined up against Ethiopian Coffee:
Starting XI: Nafian Alionzi (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Derrick Ndahiro, Najib Fesali, Hudu Mulikyi, Patrick Mbowa, Joackiam Ojera, Shafik Kagimu (C), Said Kyeyune, Steven Mukwala, Cromwel Rwothomio

Subs: James Alitho, Ronald Kigongo, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Faruku Katongole, Ivan Sserubiri, Ivan Sseruyidde, Living Kabon, Viane Ssekajugo and Ibrahim Dada.

John Bugembe
September 19, 2021